My Testimony

Hey. Today I thought it would be good to just write my testimony – how I met God, what he’s done in and through me etc etc.

I am part of a Christian family and became a Christian when I was a little girl. From a young age I wanted other people and my friends who were mainly non-Christians to meet Jesus too and after a long period at the end of Year 5 (Primary School) when a close friend had moved away and I hadn’t spoken much to her about Jesus as well as feeling as if I was getting nowhere with other friends – to whom I spoke about him with all the time – I became very discouraged and wondered away spiritually from Jesus whilst still attending church with my family. I believed church was not for me but for adults and found attendance very boring. I went through a period of refocus from God and wasn’t interested at all. On top of this, I didn’t speak to my friends about God or tell them I was going to go to church.

However I also wanted to be a part of the evening service at church – which in hindsight probably had more to do with a late night than going deeper with God. Whatever the reason, God got me to the place he wanted me and I repeatedly found myself in tears without any idea why. I started to feel more interested in God, my bible and church. One particular Sunday evening, my mum sent me along to church with my friend and Christian Union leader Vicky who at the end of the service asked me if I wanted to recommit my life to Jesus and I decided that I would. That night with Vicky and John, our pastor, I recommitted my life and I haven’t been the same since. Ever since I have been on fire for God.

That summer I went to a youth camp called Survive Alive where my passion for Jesus was really ignited as I met for myself the first time with the Holy Spirit and made some very close and lifelong friends. I came home very passionate, very excited and very filled with the Holy Spirit. I felt completely on fire for God. I went to Wellspring a year later and was amazed to really meet with God in a transforming way year after year. That first year, I believe God started to show me the plans he has for me (Jeremiah 29:11) and to take me forward on the journey I am on.

In my life, I have been involved in 2 church plants so far (planted by Light and Life). As a family, a few years ago, God called us to plant the church in another part of Cornwall with our pastor, John and his wife, Becky. It was an answer to a prayer I’d been praying for since God reignited my passion for him when I was 12 and even before. I have always wanted God to use me and this was one of the first opportunities I realised that he could and not only that he could but he would! Following God has meant sacrifice and through the plant we had to move house. This meant I had to sacrifice seeing my closest friends come to the Lord and still wait and pray for. It also meant I had to learn to trust him to get me through all the more as I restarted the majority of my GCSEs in the move and start afresh in a new location. God has used me in new ways since I sacrificed everything that I knew and I feel so blessed through what he has done in my life. He has given me lifelong friends that encourage me and this is an amazing blessing. I am becoming closer to God each day and continue to wish to be used by him. I hope this year that he will continue to do more and more in and through me!

 

Blessings

~ by jemiluce on January 15, 2013.

One Response to “My Testimony”

  1. a blessing to read. May God bless you mightily in all you do for him

Leave a Reply

 
Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Man & Woman

Thinking hard about our relationships

Footsteps Of Faith

'Finally, brother and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable - if anything is excellent or praiseworthy - think about such things. Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me - put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.' - Philippians 4:8-9 (NIV)

James & Lydia

To See Young People Have An Authentic Relationship With Jesus That Transforms Them And The World Around Them

Twiddlefingers

An Adventure in Faith

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Becky's African Adventure

Notes from Uganda

CROSS-SHAPED STUFF

i want to see more stuff shaped like a cross

The Dynamic Force

Moving through the darkness into the Light

Seasonsgirl

For seasons of life, the changing seasons, and the seasoning we all love to cook with.

The1savedbygrace's Blog

Learning to give the same grace I have received.

godspoetbychoice

commentary on christian life and poetry

Cindy Powell

Revealing His heart...in the beauty of simplicity

Lessons by Heart

-Learned at the Feet of Jesus,Shared with You.

iChristian

Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12

Esther Out Loud

My thoughts from A-Z

